Fri, 28 Feb 2020

DILG confers SGLG to five LGUs in Eastern Samar

Philippine Information Agency
23 Oct 2019, 16:38 GMT+10

BORONGAN CITY, Oct. 23 (PIA)--The Department of Interior and Local Government (DILG) -E. Samar announced the LGU- passers of the Seal of Good Local Governance (SGLG) as Arteche, Oras, Can-avid, Sulat, and Salcedo.

According to the DILG Provincial Director Ms. Visitacion V. Giva, only five LGUs in the province passed the Pagkilala sa Katapatan at Kahusayan ng Pamahalaang Lokal aka SGLG.

"Passing the SGLG rests upon the management of the local chief executives as they are the implementers of their respective services in their municipalities," said Giva.

"They will take the lead in the successful operation of their respective LGUs," Giva added.

Giva said that the SGLG is a program of the department which evaluates and recognizes the efficiency and effectiveness of the LGUs in performing their mandate for public service delivery.

SGLG is a progressive assessment system that gives LGUs distinction for their remarkable performance across the governance areas.

This year, the SGLG carries on with the "All-in" assessment criteria where the LGUs must pass all seven governance areas: Financial Administration (foster transparency and accountability); Disaster Preparedness (prepare for challenges posed by disasters); Social Protection (broaden access to social services especially the marginalized and most vulnerable in the community).

Also, the Peace and Order (protect the community from threats to life and security); Business-Friendliness and Competitiveness (attract more business for investment and employment); Environmental Protection (uphold the integrity of the environment), and Tourism, Culture and the Arts (optimize tourism potential, and enrich cultural heritage and community).

Giva added that Salcedo- LGU is the consistent awardee of SGLG from 2016 to 2019.

Pres. Rodrigo Roa Duterte has signed Republic Act 11292 - "An Act Establishing and institutionalizing the SGLG for LGUs."

Under the law, the SGLG refers to "an award, incentives, honor and recognition-based program for all LGUs, and commitment for LGUs to continually progress and improve their performance."

The five local chief executives of the five LGUs will receive their awards on November 5, 2019, at the Manila Hotel, said Giva. (SDC-PIA/E. Samar)

Sign up for Manila News

a daily newsletter full of things to discuss over drinks.and the great thing is that it's on the house!